top of page

The Hand of Sorrow

The Crown's Secret

Where secrets abound, trust is not an option—neither is failure.


Princess Ensula of Ceraleo lost everything the day her father and brother were assassinated, and she was sent to a faraway land for her own safety. From a distance over the next decade, she heard how her mother rules with an iron fist, so now Ensula decides to return, knowing she is stepping into the middle of a battlefield.


Adrik's world crumbled on the day of the assassinations. He lost friends he considered to be family that day, and the woman that he loved left without saying goodbye. He remained loyal to the queen, and at the first opportunity to gain power to prevent such loss from occurring again, Adrik seized it, becoming Lord Inquisitor.


Upon Ensula's return, Adrik will do anything to protect her, but he realizes the one person he will have to protect her from the most is himself. As Ensula comes face-to-face with her past once more, she knows one thing: she can trust no one.


'The Crown’s Secret' is the first book in the Hand of Sorrow, a fantasy series imbued with political intrigue, betrayal, and mystery. If you are fond of magic, questioning characters' motives, and a quick-paced story with a hint of romance, you'll want to check out Kelly Blanchard's new series that she co-wrote with Matthew Dale.


Buy 'The Crown’s Secret' to start this new adventure today!

The Crown's Burden

Sometimes to survive a game, you need to play the part. Other times, you just need to break the game.


Tiachyus bides his time, allowing the new queen to get her bearings. He gives just enough ground to make her feel victorious, but he is waiting.


Ensula is prepared to settle in for the long game, but when removing the restraints from the mages has adverse effects, she must take decisive action. It doesn't help that the Arch Prelate Danroth arrives with an agenda of his own, leaving Ensula to wonder if she could really ally with Tiachyus or if she could bring them both down?


'The Crown's Burden' is the second book of the intriguing fantasy series, The Hand of Sorrow. If you like trying to guess what's going to happen next, rooting for the downfall of certain characters, and screaming when things don't turn out the way you wanted, you'll love the second installment in Kelly Blanchard and Matthew Dale's gripping series.


Explore 'The Crown's Burden' and see what choices Ensula will make.

Buy it now!

The Crown's Sorrow

Washing blood off your hands is always easier in the dark.


After expelling the Fane from her borders and seizing complete control of her kingdom, Ensula feels the harassment of the neighboring kingdoms, probing her for weakness. They cross one too many lines. While Ensula tries the diplomatic route with one of the three kingdoms, she has no choice but to force the reorganization of the other two kingdoms by calling on her ties with assassins.


After being banished from Ceraleo, Adrik found a new life another continent away in the Five Houses of Assassins. When the contract with Ensula comes up, the Allocators assign Adrik to the job. He knows the land better than anyone in the Five Houses, so Adrik finds himself, once more, serving Ensula but in secret this time.


As more and more blood stains the land, a darker time shrouds Ensula. Did she make the right decision? Was it worth the cost she ultimately paid?


'The Crown’s Sorrow' is the third book in the gripping fantasy series, The Hand of Sorrow. If you like suspense, political intrigue, and shocking twists as well as strong but realistic female characters, you'll want to pick up the third installment in Kelly Blanchard and Matthew Dale's spellbinding series.


Buy it now to see how Adrik and Ensula function separated from each other. 

To get what you want, you have to open your hands and lose what you already had.


With Ceraleo's armies now face-to-face with the armies of the Fane, Ensula summons the one person who knows the ways of the Fane better than anyone—Adrik.


When Adrik receives the summons, he is leery at first. After all, he was banished from Ceraleo on the pain of death, but he cannot ignore Ensula. He never could tell her 'no'.


As the two come together once more, old feelings are rekindled, but they are in the middle of a war. Adrik lends Ensula his expert knowledge of the Fane to persuade the Fane that war with Ceraleo is not in their best interest.


However, the Fane does not submit so easily. Every move is calculated, and there is no risk too great for them to take.


Will Ensula finally be rid of the Fane, or will she be dragged down into a darker path?


Will Adrik stand with her or turn against her?


'The Crown’s Valor' is the fourth book in the cunning fantasy series, The Hand of Sorrow. If you like medieval warfare mixed with magic, lovers reunited once more, and difficult decisions have to be made, you will want to pick up the fourth installation of Kelly Blanchard and Matthew Dale's captivating series.

Buy it now and see how the journey continues!

The Crown's Valor

The closer you are to victory, the closer you are to defeat.


Ensula has been captured by Arch Prelate Danroth, who has bound her magic, preventing her from escaping. Since she is pregnant, Danroth refuses to subject her to the Reeducational process until she has given birth. In order to ensure that Adrik and no one else can find Ensula, Danroth keeps her constantly on the move. He takes this time to introduce the rebellious queen to his loyal subjects throughout his empire to try and persuade her that the religion of Tenillith is not all evil, but Ensula is bidding her time.


Meanwhile back in Ceraleo, Adrik refuses to seize absolute control in the absence of their queen. With the help of a few friends, he leads the defense of the kingdom against Danroth’s continual assaults. All the while, Adrik is desperately trying to locate Ensula.


Can he find her before she gives birth to their child and is subjected to the horrors of Tenillith’s agents? Will he have to seize complete control of Ceraleo and reclaim his reputation as the Demon of Ceraleo in order to bring her home? Will he lose everything by trying to make everything right?


‘The Crown’s Wrath’ is the fifth book in the captivating fantasy series, The Hand of Sorrow. If you want to see how this spellbinding series ends, you will definitely want to check this final book in the series.

Buy it now and see how the story ends!

The Crown's Wrath

Omnibus - Books 1-5

A princess returns to claim her birthright from the hands of a tyrant, but working alongside the tyrant is the man she once loved.


When her father and brother were assassinated, Princess Ensula was sent away while her mother seized the throne, determined to root out the assassins and make Ceraleo a safer place for her daughter. However, ten years had passed, and Ensula heard nothing but rumors of how her mother reigned with an iron fist. So she set out to Ceraleo to see if the rumors were true and to remove her mother from power if necessary, but of course, she must skillfully play the game of politics so as not to reveal her hand too soon.


Adrik serves Ceraleo as Lord Inquisitor of Queen Risema. Once, a lifetime ago, he had loved Ensula and they spoke of getting married, but everything changed with the assassinations of the king and prince. Only he remained at Queen Risema’s side, obeying every command without hesitation, no matter how dark the deed, but his loyalty came at a terrible price. 


Will Ensula find an ally in Adrik, or is it too late for him now?


This Omnibus contains the five books of the fantasy, political thriller series, The Hand of Sorrow. If you enjoy a good book with magic and characters who have their own hidden agendas, you will love this slow-burn, captivating series by Kelly Blanchard and Matthew Dale.


Buy the box set now, get all five books, and enjoy this fantastic series!

bottom of page