top of page

Coming soon!
Publishing as Serafia Cross.

A Historical Fiction series
written by Kelly Blanchard
under the name Serafia Cross.


The Last King of Legends
Book 1
The Kingmakers

Jerusalem 1170

At age nine, Prince Baldwin is handed a death sentence—leprosy. 

Set to inherit a kingdom at war, Baldwin does everything in his power to prepare to become king. With his illness limiting his abilities, he must learn alternative ways to use a sword and ride a horse.

Most importantly, he must keep his terrible disease a secret from the High Court. After all, how can an Unclean One rule the Holy City of Jerusalem?

‘The Kingmakers’ is a captivating take of the true story of King Baldwin IV of Jerusalem during the Crusades. It is the first book in the historical fiction series, The Last King of Legends. 

the Hand of Sorrow Omnibus
Books 1-5

A princess returns to claim her birthright from the hands of a tyrant, but working alongside the tyrant is the man she once loved.


When her father and brother were assassinated, Princess Ensula was sent away while her mother seized the throne, determined to root out the assassins and make Ceraleo a safer place for her daughter. However, ten years had passed, and Ensula heard nothing but rumors of how her mother reigned with an iron fist. So she set out to Ceraleo to see if the rumors were true and to remove her mother from power if necessary, but of course, she must skillfully play the game of politics so as not to reveal her hand too soon.


Adrik serves Ceraleo as Lord Inquisitor of Queen Risema. Once, a lifetime ago, he had loved Ensula and they spoke of getting married, but everything changed with the assassinations of the king and prince. Only he remained at Queen Risema’s side, obeying every command without hesitation, no matter how dark the deed, but his loyalty came at a terrible price. 


Will Ensula find an ally in Adrik, or is it too late for him now?


This Omnibus contains the five books of the fantasy, political thriller series, The Hand of Sorrow. If you enjoy a good book with magic and characters who have their own hidden agendas, you will love this slow-burn, captivating series by Kelly Blanchard and Matthew Dale.


Buy the box set now, get all five books, and enjoy this fantastic series!

The Hand of Sorrow
Book 1
The Crown's Secret


Where secrets abound, trust is not an option—neither is failure.


Princess Ensula of Ceraleo lost everything the day her father and brother were assassinated, and she was sent to a faraway land for her own safety. From a distance over the next decade, she heard how her mother rules with an iron fist, so now Ensula decides to return, knowing she is stepping into the middle of a battlefield.


Adrik's world crumbled on the day of the assassinations. He lost friends he considered to be family that day, and the woman that he loved left without saying goodbye. He remained loyal to the queen, and at the first opportunity to gain power to prevent such loss from occurring again, Adrik seized it, becoming Lord Inquisitor.


Upon Ensula's return, Adrik will do anything to protect her, but he realizes the one person he will have to protect her from the most is himself. As Ensula comes face-to-face with her past once more, she knows one thing: she can trust no one.


'The Crown’s Secret' is the first book in the Hand of Sorrow, a fantasy series imbued with political intrigue, betrayal, and mystery. If you are fond of magic, questioning characters' motives, and a quick-paced story with a hint of romance, you'll want to check out Kelly Blanchard's new series that she co-wrote with Matthew Dale.


Buy it now and see how Ensula's journey begins!

The Last King of Legends is entirely different from the Hand of Sorrow and the Chronicles of Lorrek. It is based in the real world between the Second and Third Crusades and focuses on the real historical figure, King Baldwin IV. This will be the only historical fiction series Kelly (as Serafia) publishes as she is more interested in fantasy/sci-fi. She is republishing this series as a service to her devoted fans of the series and will finally release the final book.


The Hand of Sorrow and The Chronicles of Lorrek take place in Kelly Blanchard's fantasy/science-fiction universe. Either series can be read first. More books are planned in this universe.

bottom of page